9 Comments

I love the engagement. Since it seems like suggestions are actively sought, I would absolutely love to see Written Tales merchandise. I’d proudly wear a t shirt with Written Tales Magazine blazoned across it.

Also, I love the challenge of writing competitions : looming deadlines , the incentives, the rewards.

There’s my two pennies worth. Have a fantastic day all, and keep those pens poised for inspiration.

Expand full comment
Jul 6, 2023Liked by Written Tales

I think it’s a great idea, gets the brain working. Unfortunately, for me, Saturdays are busy days and not a lot of writing time. Maybe give the prompt on Saturday and give it a few days for us to work on it. Then send it out votes. Thanks for asking.

I find Written Tales a great way to connect for us writers and for those of us hoping for a writers chance.

Expand full comment

I find the prompts and spontaneity a lot of fun. Just wish there were more takers. Happy to see if it builds up with some time. Thank you for doing and asking.

Expand full comment
author

Do you think extending it from Sat to Mon would help drive more engagement?

Expand full comment

If the topic interests me, I'll write. As a really boring guy my interests are limited. I'm down for peanut butter, hikes in Oregon and Washington, peach vodka, naps. There may be others that enthuse me.

Expand full comment

I've only taken up the challenge a couple of times, but it was fun on each occasion. At this point, I'd enjoy sitting back for awhile and seeing what others come up with. I'd recommend continuing this feature.

Margaret D. Stetz

Expand full comment

I love the initiative! Gives us readers who are also writers a chance to engage with a bit of a challenge. Agree with others though that an extended acceptance period would be welcome as weekends are very busy and I don't always have time to sit down to write on Saturdays, and consequently haven't been able to participate yet.

Expand full comment

Yes!

They motivate me to take the time to focus on a topic with a short amount of limited time. Of which I must confess I struggle with. I am getting better at finishing sooner, and who knows maybe submit on time :).

Expand full comment

I absolutely love the idea not only because it stirs us with enthusiasm but also makes us know about the various forms and techniques of poetry. Such challenges also promote cross-learning and lead one to improving his craft more.

Expand full comment