10 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post

Nothing But the Tooth

I was foraging for berries to make tutti-frutti ice-cream when I saw the flash from the corner of my eye. I turned, and it was gone. I smelled vanilla and lavender… weird, because seconds before I had been smelling the acrid, musky smell of elderberries.

When I got home, I heard crying. Simonne was teasing Theresa – again. These days, she has made a habit of it, no matter how much I tell her not to.

I entered the house through the side-door. “There is no tooth fairy!” she was saying, “Mama and papa just made her up just as they made up the Sandman and the Easter Bunny. They just trick you into believing that she exists, so that they can give you some extra pocket money without your having to ask for it!”

I saw the flash again, I tell you, and this time it was like a spiral whirl, not just a beeline. And, was that glitter in the air? I reached out to touch it, and there was nothing.

“But she exists!” young Theresa sobbed. “I know she does. I saw her picture in a book once, and mama and papa do not play silly jokes like that. I mean, I know the Easter Bunny does not exist, because bunnies never grow that big. The Sandman does not exist either, because every night, before I sleep, I knock about under my bed with a broom, and I would feel him if he were there… But I tell you, the Tooth Fairy exists. She does, too!”

“OK, have it your way!” said Simonne with a nasty grin on her face. “But if you stay awake long enough, and pretend you are asleep, you will see mama tiptoe into your bedroom at night, and she will take away the tooth and put a €uro coin there, instead.”

Simonne swanned out of the room, tossing her long blonde hair. At 15, she thinks she is too grown up to believe in fantasy.

Theresa rubbed her eyes and asked me whether the Tooth Fairy exists, or not.

“We shall have to wait and see…” I said, not committing myself. I was the one who told Theresa that the Tooth Fairy has lots of dresses with frilly skirts and tights that match her t-shirts., and fluorescent gossamer wings that shine in the sun. During the night, they catch the moonbeams, and so she is always surrounded by light.

Next morning, I was sipping my coffee leisurely, since it was a Saturday and I did not have to go to work. There was a kaleidoscope of butterflies flitting around over the flowers – but there was also that rainbow sparkly spital, moving around and between them – it seemed, indeed, like they were playing with the light.

Theresa came running downstairs.

“Look! Mama! Look! See what I got!” she shouted. Simonne looked at me and gave me a sarcastic smile.

“The Tooth Fairy left me €20!”

Ooops. I had forgotten that Theresa had lost a tooth the morning before. She had brought it from school, wrapped in her handkerchief. And my husband was abroad, sop he could not have left the money.

The cat woke up, and jumped onto the windowsill, as he did every morning. He meowed loudly, and ran out of the cat flap, instead of rushing to the food bowl as he usually did… and began playing with the light and with the butterflies, who did not seem scared of him at all, today.

Expand full comment
Jun 25, 2023·edited Jun 25, 2023Liked by Written Tales

Under a rock on the left side of my well-worn forest path

just around the turn where the oak tree bearing

carved names of lost loves rests weary and gnarled--

there! Over there! See the phosphorescence glowing sharply

blood-rosy sparked with anger. Out from the light seeps

scented memories of wool tweed and Old Spice.

It oozes past the mound of grasses

weeping into emptiness—there’s no one here

who’ll listen. Light makes shadows, and in those shadows

I feel your fist upon my cheek, my chin, my soft

reclusive inner child. I hear the snarl of my name,

one of many not my own you spit into my face. Backing up

my spine a rigid mast against the oak, I feel for the initials

carved by one who loved me way back when, who wiped

my blood with flannel, whose unkept promises were not

her fault. Now I feel her strength embolden mine. There is nothing

here to fear. I take a sturdy breath, move my heavy feet

and leave you all alone beneath dark branches weighed by

incrimination, a single stone to keep you in your place.

Expand full comment

Hope you don't mind I did another.. These are so much fun! Thanks for the prompts! ..Moe Phillips

Puff of smoke glides through night air.

Moist ground alive with meal and meat.

Five feet of wings, haunts the trees.

Listening for the roar, of a miniature pink foot.

Head swivels. Eyes blink.

North. Then South.

Talons stretch and bend.

Itching for the strike.

Burst of dried leaves, sends a gunshot

through the forest.

They float down,

as silent as the hunter,

to rest again

in the fresh indentation

of empty earth.

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2023Liked by Written Tales

There was a rustling

A bustling amongst the leaves.

A quick bark

To let me know it was near.

Perhaps it had some young’uns.

I never saw them,

As it scampered from limb to limb.

But I had to grin

As it performed its acrobatic tricks

Looking for this or that.

Poking its nose into everything.

And finally, finally, stopping long enough

To munch on a seed or nut

Or perhaps an insect

Caught unawares.

This one was brown, not grey, not red, not black.

It barked one more time, as I walked on and looked back.

Expand full comment

Midnight Hunger -Moe Phillips

Screaming from a hollow tree,

a voice cries out

“Who cooks for ME!”

Echoes in the forest ring.

In the name of God,

feed that thing!

Expand full comment

Light, moon light

reflections of peace,

Might running dry

differed splashes.

Beauty and serene

the woods seize,

After winds please

skin who tire with lashes.

A hard thud presses the ground

then came a harder sigh.

A hand lead its way to hound

wet plains where it lie.

Thuds came beneath downed eyes

in silence came frowned unwise why's.

A loud bang

the surroundings darken,

A rustle of leaves

the river clouds sink in,

A heightened sense

the plants sunken,

An emerging figure

and the beating heart who bargain.

Its snout face across the running waters

Its lashes shine under the light, moon light

Its tongue seek the differed splashes

Its feet feel the wind who pleases

His heart feel might running dry.

I sat across the running waters

My heart bargains still a plenty.

Yet came a sense of humanity,

A peace which came from nature only.

Expand full comment