3 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post
Feb 18·edited Feb 18

The Teapot Fountain

The last time I saw Erika Chan was at her 21st birthday party. She arrived at the Mi Piaci Italian eatery in a midnight blue evening gown that matched her BMW. She and all her debutante friends then settled down for a fancy meal. I ordered angel hair pasta, the easiest to twirl with my fork like everyone else at the table.

After we ate, we agreed on a tiramisu cake for dessert. While we waited, we presented our gifts to the birthday girl. Now, when I look back on that day, most of those presents were probably jewelry or designer purses. Erika gave me a disappointed glance when I handed her mine, a clay tea set I bought from a store in Chinatown, wrapped in used paper.

It's been decades since I graduated from the posh university where I met Erika. I often take the bus to Temple City, where a giant teapot fountain flows with nostalgia. I can imagine Erika telling me that my humble gift was priceless, blessing her with abundance, just like the fountain.

Expand full comment

The Sound of Water

Ella covered her waste and urine with dirt from the cellar floor to keep the flies down. The hollow sound of water rushing through a pipe told her Monica had used the toilet. She thought it would be nice to use the toilet again and have running water. It would be wonderful to see the sun and take a bath. How long had it been since she'd heard water splashing into a bathtub? Months.

The floor creaked, the water to the toilet stopped, and the sound of water flowing to the sink started. Ella pictured the old red-haired woman washing her hands. She could almost smell the clean. The pipes banged. The sound of water stopped, and the floor creaked.

It went quiet, and Ella imagined Monica scooping coffee into the pot. She heard the sound of water flowing into the kitchen sink and closed the main shutoff. The sound stopped. It'd taken her weeks to break the chain. The floor creaked. If Monica wanted water, she'd need to open the cellar door. Ella picked up the blade of a rusty knife and glanced at the shallow grave. She'd cover Monica good and deep to keep the flies down.

Expand full comment

Shirahige

White roaring falls of Shirahige

Plunging to depths of ravenous ravine

Splintering the cold silence all around

Of stoic frost-encrusted trees

And steely shimmering icicles

In shattered symphonies striking surface

Bubbling picture-perfect blues

Pitching to flow in oneness

With the great River Biei below

Expand full comment