58 Comments
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Written Tales

I like the idea. I like the idea of having both a hard copy and digital option as well.

Expand full comment

This sounds like an amazing opportunity and I would definitely be interested. How many pages long would it need to be?

Expand full comment
founding

Count me in, sounds like a generous proposal and very cool.

Expand full comment

I just had my chapbook rejected and spent all day trying to find another publisher of chapbooks of 25 pages to submit it to. If you do decide to go this route, I'm interested in submitting mine. It's autobiographical about surviving sexual assault, physical abuse, a suicide attempt and alcoholism, but it does at least end on a positive note.

Expand full comment

This sounds very interesting, would the chapbook be available in a print version too? I am old school and love my physical books.

Expand full comment

Count me in. I'd prefer both digital & print. How many pages are you considering. I have a couple ready to go.

Expand full comment

Very cool idea! I like it!

Expand full comment

This sounds like a good idea.

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2023Liked by Written Tales

Absolutely interested in both print and digital!!!!

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2023·edited Sep 8, 2023Liked by Written Tales

Although I have no plans for a chapbook in the near future, I like the idea. This will get many poets published. I would say you should go ahead it with, Kevin.

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2023Liked by Written Tales

Are you interested in poetry or anthologies? I have a poetry chapbook. I’ve also got short stories.

Expand full comment

This sounds really lovely and a great opportunity. Would definitely be interested :)

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2023Liked by Written Tales

After giving it some thought, Kevin might not like the idea, but I'd definitely prefer Kevin to do the one author chapbooks like he does multi-author chapbooks. He could keep the pittance from selling them. Then it would be much easier for me, and there would be paper books. No paper books from D2D for me.

Expand full comment

It’s nothing I would be interested in as a publish my own books, but I think it’s a great idea for others. I wish you the best in this!

Expand full comment
author

I have an update on the Author opportunity. You can read it here:

https://writtentales.substack.com/p/author-chapbooks-update

Expand full comment

I would want assurance about the layout. The anthology on nature which was just published/ which has a lovely cover - cut my quatrain leaving the first line of a stanza as an orphan line at the bottom of the page. You told me it was Amazon that did this and there wast anything you could do. I believe you, but to me , it was as if my poem was murdered- cutting the stanza instead of having the four lines together on the next page. This interrupted and wrecked the rhyme snd thé rhythm. When I saw the orphan line, it was a sword through my heart. The literary journals seem to use various devices including changing space where poems start, putting in extra spaces at bottom or top where poems start or end, or even between stanzas, or even size of print, to make sure their poetry is formatted so poem is properly presented and stanzas not cut up if possible. this matters less for free verse, of course, but if you have rhyming snd metered poetry it really needs to be done correctly. I am not complaining, just pointing something out that with a new printer other than Amazon, can you/we make sure that doesn’t happen? Eg - with page proofs that show you how it will look printed out? Again, that’s for the hard copy books- which many like to give as gifts. Think this not an issue for online publication . Thanks for asking us. AG

Expand full comment

Yes, very interested.

And also print copies.

Thanks!

Expand full comment

I like it. Do you have a format that you want the author to follow?

Expand full comment

I have dealt with D2D and it was a PITA. Nobody is offering my story collection on paper. Submitting to D2D was overly complicated and difficult. Midway through the process a cover picture was required. First, this was unexpected and I've always used Pixabay for illustrations, but D2D required an illustration on my computer. I only wanted paper, but digital input was first. So much more. When I learned that there was more work before I could get any payments, I decided to let them keep the pennys. The only positive that I have from this is that "Vernonia Trilogy" has been published and is available in digital Whoop. It might work for someone, but I have no plans to do anything with D2D again. If Kevin wanted to publish one author chapbooks, sure.

Expand full comment

This sounds interesting. Am in and print copies too would make more meaning. Keep me posted.

Expand full comment

I like the idea. And, if 1 author does not have enough to fill the book,then you might think of adding another. Perhaps 3 at the most. That way they would all get exposure.

Expand full comment

This is a great idea, Kevin. I can't imagine any poet that would be less than thrilled to have their work published. I'm in!

Expand full comment

I would be very interested in this opportunity. I have been working on getting a chapbook of poetry published and this would be perfect for me. Also, I could supply my own cover art as I am also a visual artist.

Expand full comment

Love this idea! Can’t wait to submit!

Expand full comment

This sounds really cool, and like the first step in a big journey forward!!

Expand full comment

Yes! I love this idea!

Expand full comment

I think this is a good idea. An inaugural book publication window or a breakthrough for a number of poets. It will not only afford these poets an opportunity to have their small books published but also to be considered and ideally consumed by readers from a diversity of cultures and countries.

Expand full comment